Commencement Awards (May 2015)

May 9, 2015

At the May 9, 2015, commencement, Warner Pacific honored the following people with awards of academic and personal excellence.

A.F. Gray Award: Kelsey Davisson

AF Gray award - Kelsey Davisson 2015Albert F. Gray, the first president of Warner Pacific College, demonstrated the living example of a godly life, a disciplined mind, and a warm and loving heart. In 1940, he declared that the College seeks to impart to its students, knowledge of the great facts of religion and build into their personality those noble characteristics of love, faith, loyalty, devotion—in short, the graces of the spirit—that they may be well qualified to serve Christ and His church.” In order to uphold and honor these timeless principles, the College presents the A.F. Gray Award each year to a student who clearly exemplifies those high ideals.

As a worship arts leadership major and drama minor, Kelsey personifies servant leadership. She served well as co-president of the student-led  Choral Studies Council; as both a performer and student director of drama productions; and as Chapel Arts Coordinator. She leads with intelligence,  intuition, self-differentiation, and empathy.

Kelsey is a kind, attentive, compassionate, and articulate young woman.  She is the daughter of two alumni and has a rich history with the Church of God (Anderson, Ind.). As such, she has been formed by the stories of the College in the life of her family and community. She is rooted to our past with a deep understanding of our urban Portland context, and with a hunger to explore global perspectives.


Wilma I. Perry Award: Yvonne Edwards

Wilma Perry award 2015 - Yvonne EdwardsDr. Wilma I. Perry embodied many wonderful qualities that Warner Pacific College considers of high value for its graduates of the Adult Degree Program. In her lifetime, Dr. Perry served as pastor of the Friendly Street Church of God in Eugene, OR, following years of service as an itinerant preacher and evangelist. Furthermore, she earned a doctorate in psychology from the University of Oregon as an adult student and joined the faculty at Warner Pacific College, where she also directed the College’s Center for Human Services. She was known for her speaking and teaching abilities, and as a gifted, published scholar. Dr. Perry’s life was one of service, academic excellence, integrity, and transformation.

Marshall K. Christensen Award: Alexandra Kathleen Sindorf

Alexandra Kathleen Sindorf - 2015 Christensen awardThe Marshall K. Christensen Award for Excellence in Scholarship, named in honor of the College’s fifth president. This award is presented a graduating senior who best embodies the values characterizing academic life at Warner Pacific College. Faculty members nominate students whom they recognize as having not only benefited from our academic program of study and co-curricular activities but also ones who have made significant contributions to their classmates and colleagues.


Milo L. Chapman Award: Gimena Olguin

2015 Chapman award - Gigi OlguinWarner Pacific College’s is a place “Where Faith and Scholarship Lead to Service.” As a Liberal Arts institution we are committed to the development of the whole person. Throughout their four (or more) years at Warner Pacific, students are given an opportunity to become learners and servants both inside and outside of the academic classroom, on our campus, and in the community. Many students go beyond the basic requirements of learning and enhance their holistic education by participating in a variety of experiences that allow them to integrate all they are learning about themselves, their world, and their faith. Following the model that Christ set before us of tangibly loving the community in which they live, students are able to put feet to their faith and realize the joy of serving.

The Milo L. Chapman Excellence in Service Award is named for a man who served Warner Pacific College as a model of servant hood to this community. His association with the College spanned 46 years. During these years, he filled the position of President three times, served as Dean, and in addition taught classes on a consistent basis.  Milo was a man of wisdom who listened. He was a counselor, encourager and mentor.  He was a man of great faith in God. His life was a life of service.


Traditional Undergraduate Outstanding Students Recognition:

These honors and awards were presented to students at the April 30, 2015, Honors & Awards Chapel.

Adult Degree Program Outstanding Students Recognition:

  • ADP Outstanding Student for Excellence in Liberal Arts Leadership and Service: Bradford Eugene Batchelor
  • ADP Outstanding Student for Excellence in Christ-Centered Leadership and Service: Ly Doan
  • ADP Outstanding Student for Excellence in Diversity Leadership and Service: De’Wana Kashaija
  • ADP Outstanding Student for Excellence in Urban Leadership and Service: Kateri M. Shrider

Presidential Citation was given to:

Dr. Cole Dawson, in recognition of his exemplary service as the Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of Faculty (2005-2015)

Faculty Emeritus Citation was presented to:

  • Sandra Ahlquist

Caldwell Award for Service (faculty):

  • Bart Valentine

Presidential Citation 2015 - Dr. Dawson

Dr. Cole Dawson

Faculty Emeritus 2015 Sandra Ahlquist

Sandra Ahlquist

2015 Caldwell Award - Bart Valentine

Bart Valentine